2019 Governor's Environmental Stewardship Award Winners Announced

Photo courtesy of the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation

Photo courtesy of the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation

Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee and Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation Commissioner David Salyers announced the winners of the 2019 Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards. The winners were formally recognized for their achievements and positive impact on the state’s natural resources and communities in an awards ceremony in Franklin on August 1.

“We applaud those who proactively look internally at their own operations and capabilities to better our environment,” Lee said. “Tennessee is fortunate to have these passionate and innovative organizations committed to improving our state.”

The Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards program recognizes exceptional voluntary actions that improve or protect our environment and natural resources with projects or initiatives not required by law or regulation.

In its 33rd year, the awards program covers nine categories: building green; clean air; energy and renewable resources; environmental education and outreach; environmental education and outreach (school category); land use; materials management; natural heritage; and sustainable performance.

“The projects and organizations recognized by this year’s Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards reflect the best of environmental protection, conservation, community engagement, and partnerships,” Salyers said. “These award winners are taking the initiative to go above and beyond what is required.”

The 2019 Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Award recipients are: The Compost Fairy, Cumberland International, Cumberland River Compact, Mitchell Heights Neighborhood Association, Norris Water Commission, Ruby Falls, Tennsco Corporation, Turnip Green Creative Reuse, and Urban Green Lab.

Additionally, Belmont University in Nashville is recognized with a Pursuit of Excellence award, which recognizes past award winners who continue to demonstrate a high regard for environmental stewardship.

A panel of 16 professionals representing agricultural, conservation, forestry, environmental and academic professionals judged more than 65 nominations and selected this year’s award recipients based on criteria including on-the-ground environmental achievement, innovation, transferability, partnerships, and public education.

Daniel Kietzer